Start running (in next posts- how), but don’t forget to say hello to other runners, and why not, to other people you meet!

smile wink maslow belonging helloThe importance of hello. Why?

I have run regularly for 7 years now and today I went back with my littles in the park where I started. Has been touching having a quick dash sprint with my eldest, Emma in the same path where I started building up my miles.

So grateful I am when I look at them!

While I was dashing with her a runner in his 40s came across and I can bet we recognised each other as “easy-not pro-runners”.

My wife says that a runner can identify another runner by instinct.

I waved at him and he responded to us with a nodding smile.

Emma asked “ Do you know him Papa’ (Italian word for Dad)?” and I told her “ No, sweety, but he likes running like you and me. It’s important saying hello”.

I try the best I can to teach her what I think is important and being polite is one of things that can help us how to connect better with others, having better relationship at school, at work and enjoy the life.

Here is an interesting free video and article by Dylan Gates from britishenglishcoach.com about the reasons, how and why’s.


Trekkers’ and Runners’ hello. WHY?

When I was a little one I used to go trekking with my uncle, his name is Bruno.

I did like trekking with him, because he is able to tell you about the forest, how to camping, how to find a mushroom before stepping on it (I was a mash-mushrooms Master  :D).

I remember that in our first trekking I got impressed by the greetings and respectfully smiles from other trekkers and as Emma today, I asked him why?trekking mental selfie cheers hello

He explained “When you are trekking in a forest, you are not in your environment and when you meet someone else trekking like you, you know that they are facing the same difficulties, because they have the same passion as you.We are all friends here, also because you never know…you can be helpful to someone ore vice versa.”

From that moment on, I realised how much important is for us human ( and for animals as well!) beeing acknowledged. Its a deep primordial need.

We want to be seen, we want to be part of a community and if you look at Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, “belongingness” is very very important.Find below an interesting video that explains it in details.

When I started running I had the same surprise. While you are there sweating and trying getting your breath back after the last intervals, a runner comes across and give you an hello that sounds like a cheers! It gives you power, it helps your recovery, because you both know how much effort you put in what you are doing to get out the best from you and your training.

And also why someone is different and down not wave (aarrrgggghhh!).

In this great article on Runners World you can find a few interesting reason why some people wave and some others don’t. It is not just a matter of being rude or polite.

Research has found that in certain runners, the region of the brain responsible for recognising and responding to friendliness and common courtesy is diminished or, in rare cases, missing altogether.

So runners who appear incapable of returning a simple greeting may, in fact, be just that: incapable?
Exactly. They likely have very small Steves. Or no Steve whatsoever. Here is a brain scan of a healthy runner. Note the area next to the red arrow. This is a normal-sized Steve.

Steve wave

courtesy of runnersworld

 

atrophied Steve

Atrophied Steve -courtesy of runners world

Both if you are a runner and you are not a trekker, if you have a well developed Steve or not, in my view it always makes sense smile and wave someone.

It can easily make your day and a better world around you.

 

One response to “Start running (in next posts- how), but don’t forget to say hello to other runners, and why not, to other people you meet!

  1. Pingback: Easter break and peaceful Tuscany trip | mental selfie·

Leave a Reply

