Running in the snow, vitamin D, grunge and musicophilia

Mental selfie is a place where I like to share useful content and also a place where I like to get a bit personal and share feelings and life events.

I like running in my free time. I run on a regularly basis three times per week now, but I am not a pro-runner at all, because when I was in my Teens I went for the “dark side” instead of the sporty one.


I love to play music and write songs, so when I was in my teen I spent a lot of time with friends and with my Dad  sometimes- sweet memory 🙂 – playing in cover bands and, later on, writing and performing my own “originals”.

guitar, grunge, harmony

I never got to a point to turn it in a job, because when has happened to be paid to play( in pubs, weddings ecc…) I went from being over the moon…straight  back to the earth.

It was the “grunge era” and Kurt Cobain ’s sounds was coming out loud from all the teens rooms in my small town, outside Milan.

Grunge was easily accessible, at least at the start. It wasn’t required to be an expert of musical knowledge, not too many guitar chords to  learn. For me as a singer it had an extra bonus: being allowed to scream and shout as much as I could, so was a nice way to have fun with friends.

I was sixteen and Lele, one of my best friends two years younger than me, at that time was the only one already working.I always had a lot of respect and admiration for him.

Saturday afternoon was the time all of us had been waiting for all the week trough…3 pm to 7pm all together in a studio before having a big pizza together.

You can easily image my face the day that a studio opened up literally 5 steps from my house door!

Time flies isn’t it?

music, wild, mood, freedom

I have always had the idea that music can have a great impact on our mood. It can easily turn your mood, helping you as a booster, relaxing etc. and thought that viceversa there is a music for every mood, for any time in the day.

When I studied I had the confirmation of that personal idea.

If interested I strongly recommend Musicophilia, Oliver Sacks

Music can move us to the heights or depths of emotion. It can persuade us to buy something, or remind us of our first date. It can lift us out of depression when nothing else can. It can get us dancing to its beat. But the power of music goes much, much further. Indeed, music occupies more areas of our brain than language does–humans are a musical species.

That’s why I falled in love with the spotify mood player that has become available in Italy just in the last 2 years!


running snow stop alt pedestrian This morning I decided to go our early in the morning. I snooze off my alarm clock three times and then, finally, I have dragged myself out of the bed.

A couple of days ago the snow and its magic have arrived and living outside of the city center gives us a chance to see it still white, candid and, in a few streets next to the countryside, still with no footprints at all.

Even if I love music usually I love to go running with no music as enjoying the sounds of my feet hitting the snow is all I need.

It was cold, but good, minus one minus too degrees Celsius. No cars, no noise around me. Just my breath, my  sense of freedom, the air (freezing doh!) on my face and just my “personal best” to play with.

The ice and the white snow cracking under my shoes, towards the countryside and the sun started shining after 10 minutes running!

Has been an amazing stress relief 10k slow run with myself, benefiting from the extra D vitamin boost that, according to Psychology today is the sunshine vitamin and 15 minutes in the sunlight for 2/3 times a week are enough to give you what you need for an happier life.

Research has linked low vitamin D levels with obesity, diabetes, cardiovascular disease, autoimmune disease, osteoporosis and cancer.

So let’s go outside, run if you like  and enjoy the sun!

One response to “Running in the snow, vitamin D, grunge and musicophilia

  1. Pingback: Happiness, joy, exciting, elevating. Do you like those? Let’s start running today! | mental selfie·

Leave a Reply

